When you are charged with a criminal offence, your attorney is the most important person. Here are 7 key criteria you must absolutely consider before choosing a lawyer:

  • Tenacity A lawyer who talks about money, even before taking your case, is not ready to fight for you. This gives you an immediate insight into his main motivation.
  • Strategy A lawyer who promises you a speedy trial may want you to plead guilty, where you may be acquitted at a trial. Ask questions about the strategy your lawyer intends to use.
  • Discretion Some lawyers will take advantage of the media to promote themselves. Yet, discretion and a publication ban are essential to ensure confidentiality.
  • Mastery You do not want your lawyer to use your case as a career-building practice-run against an experienced opponent. Having a lawyer with more than 30 years of experience makes all the difference.
  • Preparation Many attorneys throw their clients to the lions without enough preparation before testifying. Ask a prospective lawyer if he will help you prepare using real-life situations.
  • Impact Consider that not all lawyers are skilled at cross-examination and delivering convincing oral arguments. Before choosing your lawyer, attend a trial to watch a prospective lawyer in action.
  • Courage A courageous and truly combative attorney has nothing to hide. He answers your questions openly. He invites you to go to court to see him in action without any hesitation.

The best defence is to ask questions before choosing your attorney.

True story

Lea is charged with a crime. At her family's insistence, she calls on her uncle Bernard, an attorney who specializes in family law. It seems like the right decision: "A lawyer is a lawyer! "We need to keep this in the family!" "We'll save a lot of money!"… But all those reasons are meaningless where it really counts: in court. With his lack of knowledge of criminal law, Bernard quickly loses the judge's interest and, ultimately, the case.

Let's be clear! A criminal lawyer is a specialist just like an electrician, surgeon or dentist. Would you ask an electrician to perform open heart surgery when your life depends on it? When you are charged with a criminal offence, your reputation and freedom are at stake. Criminal defence requires a lot of practice, experience and specific knowledge of case law. Effective cross-examination and oral argument skills are also essential. Hiring a lawyer who only occasionally takes on criminal cases is a risky bet. And the risk is high, since you are up against a criminal law specialist: a Crown attorney. Aren't your reputation and freedom too precious to bet on?

The best defence is to choose an attorney who specializes in criminal law.

True story

Jack is at his first court appearance, unaware of the importance of asking for a publication ban. His attorney did not request such a ban. In the months that follow, Jack sees his reputation dragged through the mud by the media, even before he has a fair trial. Regardless of the outcome, in the eyes of his friends, colleagues and neighbours, judgment has already been rendered.

Let's be clear! Yes, your privacy can be protected until your trial. A very good lawyer knows how to erect a barrier and protect your privacy. If your attorney does not protect your privacy, who will? The first step your attorney should take in this regard is to convince the judge to issue a publication ban. Unfortunately, some lawyers fail to do this, for various reasons that are never, ever to your advantage. Without such an order, your case and identity are in the public domain and may be disclosed to T.V. reporters, newspapers, the Internet, etc. Given that it can take up to 6 to 12 months to schedule your first appearance and your trial, the impact on your life can be devastating. Can you imagine being the subject of rumors and gossip and not be able to defend yourself? Can you imagine watching as your reputation is attacked. Now imagine this going on for 365 days…

The best defence is to choose a lawyer that will protect your privacy from day one.

True story

True story: Robert must testify at his trial. With his lawyer, preparation is brief. What is the point of discussing the case any further? After all, Robert knows his story really well. On "D" day, during the testimony, Robert is thrown to the lions. Faced with an endless barrage of questions, he loses track of his story and contradicts himself. From that point forward, the judge stops listening to him… and the walls come crumbling down around him.

Let's be clear! Preparing for your testimony is critical in determining the outcome of a trial. That is why preparation must involve more than mere practice. This has nothing to do with "knowing your story really well". Nor is this the opportunity to show off your acting talents. This is serious! You must be prepared to "do battle" for hours, or even an entire day. We have developed a preparation technique based on real-life situations. We train you to face cross-examination that can be very damaging without the right preparation. We help you face the worst questions, how to conduct yourself in the witness stand, how to withstand provocation, etc. Where many lawyers believe that offence is the best strategy, we believe that a well-prepared defence is just as important. This is a team effort. You and us together. Defence and offence.

The best defence is solid preparation before you testify.

True story

Matthew would rather have a young and dynamic lawyer at his side. Why not? Kind of like those young attorneys we see in movies who win cases in spectacular style! However… when faced with an experienced opponent, everything happens too quickly. The young attorney doesn't have the reflexes, he doesn't know when to object, what to object to, and he is unable to react effectively to attacks from a tough opponent. The movie illusion vanishes into thin air…

Let's be clear! Experience makes all the difference. In legal practice, success is not achieved by magic, but rather through years of dedicated work. Thanks to Matthew, a future client will benefit from the experience his attorney has just acquired. But what about you? Can you afford to have a lawyer using your case—and your reputation—as a practice run? Mastering criminal law requires practice, study and constant refinement of knowledge and skills. Just like an athlete, a criminal lawyer must develop his abilities, reflexes and intelligence. The experience achieved through more than 30 years of criminal law practice enables an attorney to make relevant connections among various cases, gain specific knowledge about case law, assess the risks involved in choosing one strategy over another, predict an opponent's moves, deal with unforeseen events, and become immune to intimidation by anyone or anything… in other words, experience makes all the difference.

The best defence is to choose an attorney with more than 30 years of experience.

True story

David is at his trial. Nothing is going as planned. The opposing party is using a recent court decision to convince the judge. Unaware of this decision, the lawyer appears lost. Faced with the judge's insistence that he either proceed or sit down, his attorney keeps quiet and takes his seat. David's lawyer has no other option but to negotiate a lighter sentence, if possible.

Let's be clear! The answer is no. Although laws don't change much, the legal practice, on the other hand, changes constantly. Court decisions (case law) make it possible for the practice of criminal law to become more precise and refined. Lawyers do not all have the same knowledge, because they do not all have the same will to update their knowledge of case law. Furthermore, they do not all invest in the latest databases that can provide them with access to this information. However, rest assured that the opposing party, the Crown prosecutor, has all of the relevant case law at his fingertips. You can be sure he has access to a state-of-the-art database. And you can also count on the fact that, after making the decision to bring charges against you, he will use every means at his disposal to see you convicted. How about you, will you take full advantage of all of the means available to you?

The best defence is to choose a lawyer with the latest, most up-to-date knowledge.

True story

George never imagined he'd one day be charged with a criminal offence. Never! Yet, one Friday morning, the police turned up at his workplace and arrested him in front of his coworkers. In a state of panic, George chose a lawyer at random from a list given to him at the police station. Although he now regrets his choice and fears the worst, he believes he's stuck with the choice he's made.

Let's be clear! Choosing a lawyer at random makes no sense. However, that's precisely what people do when they are stricken with panic and consumed by worry. And the worst of it is that they feel obligated to stay with this attorney all the way through. If you have already hired a lawyer, but you feel that the choice you made is to your disadvantage, you can change lawyers at any time on reasonable grounds. Don't be like George—get a hold of yourself! Your reputation and freedom are at stake. If you have just been arrested or summoned by the police and charged with a criminal act, you should know that as of that moment, the worst thing that can happen to you is choosing the wrong attorney. Take the time to do the research, ask questions to different lawyers, meet with them, and even go see them in action in court. Don't entrust your fate and savings to someone about whom you know nothing.

The best defence is to change lawyers without any hesitation if you have any doubts.

True story

Audrey is under arrest. The police are convinced they have the person who has committed the crime. Audrey feels that to say nothing would be admitting guilt. Out of fear, she can't help but explain her situation to the police. During the trial, everything Audrey thought she had safely confided to the police is used against her to incriminate her. The lawyer can do nothing to reverse the tides.

Let's be clear! If you are arrested for a criminal offence, don't say anything before you talk to your lawyer. Nothing! You do not have to prove your innocence to the police; it is they who have the burden of proving your guilt. When you are arrested or summoned to the police station, you should be aware that the police have been investigating for several days. In fact, what the police really want is for you to admit your guilt. Do you really think you can make them change their mind? In most cases, the exact opposite is what ends up happening. By giving them your version of the facts, you provide them with information that supports their accusations. Exercise your right to remain silent! Exercise your right to speak to an attorney to be 100% certain that your statement cannot be used against you. Never forget that you are innocent until proven otherwise!

The best defence is to exercise your right to remain silent.

True story

Steve wants a combative attorney to defend him. The lawyer he has chosen is very self-confident, boasts about his combativeness and has an authoritarian demeanour with his staff. Although he's never seen him in action, Steve is convinced he has a hungry wolf on his side. However, when he appears before the judge on the first day of the trial, the wolf turns into a lamb.

Let's be clear! The best way to assess an attorney's ability is to see him in action during a trial. Steve's story is classic! Many lawyers boast of qualities that seem to "magically" disappear once they appear in court. When faced with a judge who acts as a figure of authority, as well as a tough opponent, they lose all their means. In fact, combativeness is more than a simple question of confidence. Combativeness goes hand-in-hand with the courage to go to the wall for you. To have the courage to stand up, despite the blows received. Combativeness means having the intelligence to react quickly with arguments that convince the judge to listen. If your attorney claims to be combative, but doesn't invite you to see this for yourself by watching him in action at a real trial, ask yourself why not. Always remain vigilant; you may be in for an unpleasant surprise in court.

The best defence is to see your attorney in action before making your choice.

Consultation gratuite, faites votre demande en ligne!

FAQ sur le choix d’un avocat au Québec

Lorsque vous êtes accusé d’un acte criminel, choisir votre avocat est votre décision la plus importante. Voici les 7 clés que vous devez absolument connaître avant de choisir :

  • Ténacité Un avocat qui vous parle d’argent avant même de discuter de votre cause n’est pas prêt à se battre pour vous. Vous savez très bien quelle est sa première motivation.
  • Stratégie Un avocat du Québec qui vous promet un règlement rapide veut peut-être que vous plaidiez coupable, alors que vous auriez pu être acquitté lors d’un procès. Posez des questions sur la stratégie qu’il veut adopter.
  • Discrétion Certains avocats du Québec tirent avantage des médias pour se faire connaître. Pourtant, la discrétion et une ordonnance de non-publication sont essentielles pour protéger votre confidentialité.
  • Maîtrise Vous ne voulez pas que votre avocat se serve de votre cause pour s’exercer devant un adversaire expérimenté. Avoir un avocat de plus de 30 ans d’expérience fait toute la différence.
  • Préparation Beaucoup d’avocats envoient leurs clients dans la fosse aux lions avec trop peu de préparation avant de témoigner. Demandez à votre futur avocat s’il vous entraîne à l’aide de mises en situation réelle.
  • Impact Ce n’est pas donné à tous les avocats d’être efficace en contre-interrogatoire et de livrer des plaidoiries convaincantes. Avant de fixer votre choix, allez à la cour pour observer comment se comporte votre futur avocat.
  • Courage L’avocat courageux et réellement combatif n’a rien à cacher. Sans détour, il répond à vos questions. Sans hésitation, il vous invite à la cour pour que vous le voyiez à l’œuvre.

La meilleure défense, c’est poser des questions avant de choisir son avocat.

Histoire vécue

Léa est accusée d’un crime. Influencée par sa famille, elle fait appel à son oncle Bernard, un avocat en droit familial. Toutes les raisons sont bonnes : « un avocat est un avocat! », « ça doit rester dans la famille! », « on va économiser de l’argent »… Mais toutes ces raisons n’ont aucune valeur, là où ça compte vraiment : à la cour. À cause de son manque de connaissances en droit criminel et pénal, Bernard perd rapidement l’intérêt du juge, puis la cause.

Soyons clairs! L’avocat criminaliste est un spécialiste au même titre que l’électricien, le chirurgien ou le dentiste. Dites-moi, demanderiez-vous à un électricien de vous opérer à cœur ouvert, alors que votre vie en dépend? Lorsque vous êtes accusé d’un acte criminel, c’est pourtant votre réputation et votre liberté qui sont en jeu. Exercer le droit criminel et pénal exige beaucoup de pratique, d’expérience et des connaissances précises de la jurisprudence. Des habiletés particulières en contre-interrogatoire et en plaidoirie sont aussi nécessaires. Engager un avocat du Québec qui défend à l’occasion des causes au criminel et au pénal est un pari risqué. Et le risque est élevé, car vous vous mesurez à un spécialiste en droit criminel et pénal : le procureur des poursuites criminelles et pénales. Votre réputation et votre liberté ne sont-elles pas trop précieuses pour être l’enjeu d’un tel pari?

La meilleure défense, c’est choisir un avocat à Québec spécialisé en droit criminel et pénal.

Histoire vécue

Jacques se présente pour sa première comparution, sans savoir à quel point il est important de demander une ordonnance de non-publication. Son avocat n’en fait pas la demande. Dans les mois qui suivent, Jacques voit sa réputation être traînée dans la boue par les médias, avant même d’avoir eu un procès équitable. Peu importe le résultat, aux yeux d’amis, de collègues et de voisins, le jugement est déjà prononcé.

Soyons clairs! Oui, c’est possible de protéger votre confidentialité jusqu’à votre procès. Un très bon avocat sait comment ériger un mur et protéger votre confidentialité. Si votre avocat n’est pas là pour le faire, qui s’en chargera? La première action qu’il doit entreprendre en ce sens est de convaincre le juge de prononcer une ordonnance de non-publication. Malheureusement, certains avocats ne le font pas pour de multiples raisons qui ne sont jamais… jamais à votre avantage. Sans cette ordonnance, votre cause et votre identité sont d’ordre public et donc susceptibles d’être dévoilées à la télévision, dans les journaux, sur Internet, etc. Sachant qu’il peut s’écouler de 6 à 12 mois entre votre première comparution et votre procès, les conséquences sur votre vie sont dévastatrices. Imaginez être l’objet de rumeurs et de ragots, sans pouvoir vous défendre. Imaginez assister en direct au salissage de votre réputation. Imaginez pendant 365 jours…

La meilleure défense, c’est choisir un avocat qui protège votre confidentialité dès le jour 1.

Histoire vécue

Robert doit témoigner lors de son procès. Avec son avocat, la préparation est brève. À quoi bon en parler davantage? Après tout, Robert connaît parfaitement son histoire. Le jour J, lors du témoignage, Robert est livré en pâture. Durant l’interminable barrage de questions, il finit par perdre le fil de son histoire et se contredire. Dès lors, le juge ne l’écoute plus… tout s’écroule.

Soyons clairs! La préparation avant le témoignage est déterminante pour l’issue d’un procès. C’est pourquoi elle doit être plus qu’une simple pratique. Ça n’a rien à voir avec le fait de « connaître parfaitement votre histoire ». Ce n’est pas non plus une occasion de montrer vos talents d’acteur. C’est sérieux! Vous devez être prêt à vous « débattre » pendant des heures, voire une journée entière. Dans notre cabinet d’avocats à Québec, nous avons développé une technique de préparation axée sur des mises en situation réelle. Un entraînement pour répondre à un contre-interrogatoire qui peut faire très mal, quand on n’y est pas préparé. Nous vous exerçons à affronter les pires questions, à vous retrouver à la barre des témoins, à ne pas répondre à la provocation, etc. Beaucoup de cabinets d’avocats au Québec pensent que la meilleure stratégie est l’attaque, nous estimons que préparer la défensive est aussi important. C’est un travail d’équipe. Vous et nous. Défense et attaque.

La meilleure défense, c’est se préparer adéquatement avant de témoigner.

Histoire vécue

Mathieu préfère un avocat jeune et dynamique. Pourquoi pas? Un peu comme ces jeunes avocats, dans les films, qui gagnent des procès de façon éclatante! Sauf que… devant un adversaire expérimenté, tout va trop vite. Le jeune avocat n’a aucun réflexe, ne sait pas quand et à quoi objecter, ne trouve pas le moyen de répliquer aux attaques d’un adversaire coriace. La magie des films disparaît.

Soyons clairs! L’expérience fait toute la différence. En droit, le succès ne s’obtient pas par magie, mais à la suite d’années de travail acharné. Grâce à Mathieu, un client futur profitera de l’expérience acquise par son jeune avocat. Mais vous? Avez-vous les moyens qu’un avocat s’exerce avec votre cause? Avec votre réputation? La maîtrise du droit criminel et pénal nécessite pratique, étude et perfectionnement. À l’image d’un athlète, un avocat en droit criminel et pénal doit développer ses habiletés, ses réflexes et son intelligence. Pratiquer le droit criminel et pénal pendant plus de 30 ans permet à un avocat d’établir des liens entre des causes, de connaître précisément la jurisprudence, d’évaluer les risques d’opter pour une stratégie ou une autre, de voir à l’avance les actions de l’adversaire, de répondre aux imprévus, de ne pas se laisser intimider par qui que ce soit… bref, de faire toute la différence.

La meilleure défense, c’est choisir un avocat à Québec de plus de 30 ans d’expérience.

Histoire vécue

David est en procès. Rien ne se déroule comme prévu. La partie adverse utilise une décision récente de la cour pour convaincre le juge. Ne connaissant pas cette décision, son avocat paraît perdu. Devant l’insistance du juge, qui lui demande de poursuivre ou de s’asseoir, son avocat se tait et s’assied. L’avocat de David n’a d’autre choix que de négocier une peine moindre, si possible.

Soyons clairs! La réponse est non. Même si les lois changent peu, la pratique du droit, elle, évolue sans cesse. En effet, les décisions prises par les tribunaux (la jurisprudence) permettent à la pratique du droit criminel et pénal de se préciser, de se raffiner. Les avocats n’ont pas tous les mêmes connaissances, parce qu’ils n’ont pas tous la même volonté de perfectionner leur maîtrise de la jurisprudence. De plus, ils n’investissent pas tous dans des bases de données récentes, qui leur donnent accès à ces renseignements. Toutefois, soyez certain que la partie adverse, le procureur des poursuites criminelles et pénales, connaît la jurisprudence jusqu’au bout des doigts. Soyez certain qu’il possède une base de données extrêmement à jour. Et soyez certain que s’il a jugé bon de vous accuser… le procureur prendra tous les moyens pour que vous soyez reconnu coupable. Et vous, prendrez-vous tous les moyens?

La meilleure défense, c’est choisir un avocat à Québec qui tient ses connaissances à jour.

Histoire vécue

Georges n’aurait jamais pensé être accusé d’une infraction criminelle un jour. Jamais! Pourtant, un bon vendredi matin, les policiers se présentent à son travail et le mettent en état d’arrestation devant ses collègues. Complètement paniqué, il choisit un avocat « au pif », à partir d’une liste remise au poste de police. Même s’il regrette son choix et craint le pire, Georges se croit dans l’obligation de garder l’avocat.

Soyons clairs! Choisir son avocat « au pif » n’a aucun sens. C’est pourtant ce que font la majorité des gens, pris de panique et submergés par l’inquiétude. Et le pire, c’est qu’ils se sentent dans l’obligation de poursuivre avec cet avocat jusqu’au bout. Si vous vous êtes déjà engagé avec un avocat, mais que vous sentez que ce choix peut vous nuire, vous pouvez en changer à tout moment en invoquant des motifs raisonnables. Ne faites pas comme Georges, ressaisissez-vous! C’est votre réputation et votre liberté qui sont en jeu. Si vous venez d’être arrêté ou que vous êtes convoqué par la police pour un acte criminel, sachez qu’à compter de cet instant, la pire chose qui puisse vous arriver est de choisir le mauvais avocat. Prenez un temps pour faire des recherches, poser des questions à différents avocats, les rencontrer et même les voir pratiquer à la cour. Ne confiez pas votre sort et vos économies à quelqu’un dont vous ne savez rien.

La meilleure défense, c’est ne pas hésiter à changer d’avocat si vous avez des doutes.

Histoire vécue

Audrey est arrêtée par la police. Les policiers sont certains de détenir l’auteure du crime reproché. Pour Audrey, ne rien dire est un aveu de culpabilité. Parce qu’elle a peur, elle ne peut s’empêcher de s’expliquer à l’agente de police. Lors du procès, tout ce qu’Audrey croyait avoir confié en toute sécurité est utilisé contre elle, pour l’incriminer. Impossible pour son avocat de renverser la vapeur.

Soyons clairs! Si vous êtes arrêté pour une infraction criminelle, ne dites rien avant d’avoir parlé à votre avocat. Rien! Vous n’avez pas à prouver votre innocence au policier, c’est lui qui doit prouver votre culpabilité. Lorsque vous êtes mis en état d’arrestation ou convoqué au poste de police, sachez que les policiers enquêtent déjà depuis plusieurs jours. En fait, ce que souhaitent surtout les policiers, c’est obtenir des aveux de votre part. Croyez-vous vraiment que vous pouvez les faire changer d’idée? La plupart du temps, c’est plutôt l‘inverse qui se produit. En expliquant votre version, vous fournissez des informations qui appuient leurs accusations. Exercez votre droit de garder le silence! Exercez votre droit de parler à un avocat, pour vous assurer à 100 % que votre déclaration ne pourra être interprétée contre vous. Vous êtes innocent jusqu’à preuve du contraire, ne l’oubliez pas!

La meilleure défense, c’est exercer votre droit de garder le silence.

Histoire vécue

Steve veut un avocat combatif pour le défendre. Il en choisit un très sûr de lui, qui vante sa combativité et se montre autoritaire avec son personnel. Sans avoir vu l’avocat dans un procès, Steve est convaincu qu’il a de son côté un véritable loup affamé. Mais dès le premier jour de son procès, une fois devant le juge, le loup se transforme en mouton.

Soyons clairs! La meilleure façon d’évaluer la qualité d’un avocat est de le voir à l’action, en plein procès. L’histoire de Steve est classique! Beaucoup de cabinets d’avocats s’attribuent des qualités qu’ils perdent par « magie » une fois à la cour. Devant un juge qui fait figure d’autorité, ainsi qu’un adversaire coriace, ces avocats perdent tous leurs moyens. D’ailleurs, la combativité est plus qu’une question d’assurance. La combativité vient avec le courage d’aller au front pour vous. Le courage de se tenir debout, malgré les coups encaissés. La combativité, c’est l’intelligence de riposter sur le fait avec des arguments qui persuadent le juge d’écouter. Si votre avocat se dit combatif, mais qu’il ne vous invite pas à venir le constater dans un vrai procès, demandez-vous pourquoi. Et soyez vigilant, peut-être qu’une mauvaise surprise vous attend une fois à la cour.

La meilleure défense, c’est voir votre avocat à l’action avant de le choisir.